State and Federal Regulations Are Designed to Ensure Everyone's Safety
In any trucking accident, regulatory violations can be a major contributing factor to the cause. At the Law Offices of Wade E. Byrd, P.A., our attorneys include a thorough inquiry into possible regulatory violations in every investigation. State and federal trucking regulations are put in place to ensure the safety of truck drivers and everyone else on the road. Failure to follow those regulations can result in serious accidents and sometimes fatal injuries.
Federal Trucking Regulations
According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), there are regulations that govern essentially every aspect of operating a commercial vehicle. We have assembled information regarding those regulations that most often come into play in trucking accident injury claims.
Driver logs: Logbooks must be kept that document the driver's entire day. Time on the road, breaks, hours of sleep and any other time must be detailed. In the event of a truck accident, we will scour these logbooks, looking for discrepancies that could prove regulatory violations that could strengthen your case.
Hours of service: Under federal law, drivers are allowed to be on the road for 11 hours a day following 10 consecutive hours off duty. Drivers are not allowed to get behind the wheel once they have been on duty for a total of 60 hours in a seven-consecutive-day period or 70 hours in an eight-consecutive-day period. We regularly use these criteria in establishing driver fatigue as a potential cause of trucking accidents.
Legal intoxication for a commercial truck driver: The FMCSA limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in a commercial truck driver is .04 percent. Any measurement above that is considered legally impaired within the context of a trucking accident.
North Carolina Trucking Regulations
North Carolina truck safety regulations impact those drivers whose jobs are performed exclusively within state boundaries. Once a driver crosses into another state, federal rules apply. Overall, our state regulations follow the federal guidelines. One notable exception, however, has to do with the hours of service. Under state law, drivers are allowed to drive for a maximum of 12 hours straight, and are not allowed to continue driving once they have been on duty for 70 hours in a seven-consecutive-day period or 80 hours in an eight-consecutive-day period.
Strong Advocates for Truck Accident Victims
If you or a loved one has been seriously injured in a truck accident that could be connected to a regulatory violation, you should seek the advice of an experienced lawyer immediately. Our firm's extensive experience with these cases allows us to take a much more proactive approach to securing the compensation you need. You can reach us by phone at 910-323-2555 or send us an e-mail to schedule a free initial consultation.